Name: Tobie LaBauve

Age: 39

Occupation: Engineer

Deadlift Max: 305
Back squat Max: 235
Got Muscle-ups: Nope

1 mile run: 8:12

Favorite WOD: Karen
Favorite Lift: Back Squat



Name: Megan LaBauve

Age: 38

Occupation: Teacher – High school Biology and Forensic Science

Deadlift Max: 195
Back squat Max: 175
Got Muscle-ups: Nope
1 mile run: 10:18 but I am working on it πŸ™‚

Favorite WOD: Anything with rowing, jump rope and sit-ups

Favorite Lift: Deadlift





How long have you been CrossFitting?
[T]: About a year and a half.
[M]: End of August was one year in CrossFit, but I had been doing the boot camp for a few months prior to that.

Which class time do you usually attend?
[T]: Tues/Thurs @ 5:15 and the Saturday Endurance
[M]: 7:15 Monday, Wednesday, or Thursday then Sat. endurance

How did you find CrossFit?
[T]: Saw a friend from High School post some pics on Facebook carrying sandbags and I Googled it to see what it was all about.
[M]: Tobie told me about it.

What is your athletic background?
[T]: Mostly basketball growing up and while in the Navy but stopped playing about 12 years ago when I went back to school.
[M]: I was a competitive swimmer

How has CrossFit changed your life, lifestyle, level of fitness?
[T]: I am in better shape than when I was in the Navy. My mobility is about the same and my strength is not even close.
[M]: Crossfit has made me feel better about my ability to succeed at athletics again, and I realize that I can maintain a workout routine while being a mom and working full time. For a very long time, I used those things as excuses to not workout and to justify the extra weight I was carrying around.

What motivates/inspires you?
[T]: My son, Izaac. Just seeing what gymnastics has done for him and realizing I needed to get in shape to keep up.
[M]: I keep working out because I want my kids to see their mom exercising and being healthy. I want them to view exercise as a normal lifestyle and not something that they avoid.

What is your proudest (CF) achievement?
[T]: Completing Murph and finally getting Toes to Bar
[M]: I remember the first time I ran 800 m without walking…that was a big day for me. πŸ™‚

Name one goal/personal achievement that you would like to achieve through CrossFit.
[T]: Consistently get <50 Pull-up WODs without a band
[M]: I want to achieve a healthy weight and maintain it. I want to never view exercise as a chore again.

Hobbies/Interests outside of CrossFit?
[T]: Mountain Biking, Kickball, Houston Rockets, Crabbing, and Light-O-Rama
[M]: I am a big reader if I get the chance. But most of my time outside of CrossFit is spent with my family and being mom. At this stage of my life, Crossfit is my hobby. That’s about all the extra time I get. πŸ˜‰

What is your favorite cheat meal?
[T]: Raising Cane’s
[M]: Hot wings and dessert.

Any advice for new members?
[T]: Worth every penny. Form is more important than speed and weight.
[M]: Just keep coming back. Don’t let the workouts get you down. I remember being really hard on myself when I could not complete a WOD, I had to change the way I was thinking and just remind myself that at least I was there and doing my best.

Have you met Pukie?
[T]: We almost met my first day when Ben made me do Baseline.
[M]: Not yet. I hope to keep it that way.